Review: 12 truths I learned from life and writing

Dr. D. M. Hardy
2 min readFeb 10, 2021

--

Speaker: Anne Lamott
TED2017
Date: April 2017
Location: Vancover, BC

Description from TED website:
A few days before she turned 61, writer Anne Lamott decided to write down everything she knew for sure. She dives into the nuances of being a human who lives in a confusing, beautiful, emotional world, offering her characteristic life-affirming wisdom and humor on family, writing, the meaning of God, death, and more.

Select this image to jump to the actual video on the TED website.
https://www.ted.com/talks/anne_lamott_12_truths_i_learned_from_life_and_writing
Select the image to go to the actual video.

My Review / Notes / Thoughts

Like all the TED Talks I’ve watched, this one was a great one … which makes it a bit hard to write about them since they are all so great! So excuse me as I say once again, you need to go watch this talk! By the way, I had to watch this one twice!

In this talk, she presents twelve things that she “knows” to be true, things she wrote down just before her 61st birthday. She presents them with a good bit of humor, and you will laugh as you watch this video. One of the lines that stuck out to me the most was from ner #10 item about grace where she said:

“Laughter really is carbonated holiness. It helps us breathe again and again and gives us back to ourselves…”

I know that this talk would be a great discussion starter, but I’m not exactly sure what field(s) of study this would be a good fit. What are your thoughts? What field(s) of study could you see this talk being used to engage students in learning?

Until next time … live long life-learner!

--

--

Dr. D. M. Hardy

I have a M.Ed. in Instructional Technology, and an Ed.D. in Adult & Career Education. I enjoy spreading knowledge, because we all need to be life-long learners.